Ask Me Anything Tag

Ask Me Anything Tag is one of my favourite challenges. I completed it almost three month ago on my other blog Love Indian Cinema thanks to the encouragement from StephJ at Scale it Simple. I have decided to do it again here, on My English Paradise, for three reasons:

  1. Writing this post gives me pleasure;
  2. Time has passed and I am just curious how different I am now;
  3. The wonderful followers of My English Paradise may not have seen this tag before.

Rules for Ask Me Anything Tag:

  • Tag the person who has nominated you
  • Invite other bloggers to complete the questions by tagging them in your post
  • Use the ask me anything image in your post
  • Answer as many of the questions as you like that I completed below

I invite everyone who reads this join the challenge, and therefore do not make any particular nominee’s list. Please leave me a comment when you make up your mind and tag me in your post so that I have fun reading your answers!

Let’s start!

 

get-to-know-me-2

How did you start your blog?

My English Paradise appeared when I felt I was trapped into a very specific topic at Love Indian Cinema. I searched for an opportunity to share my prose and poetry, to express my passion for history and literature. I started with an England-related diary entry, and “stayed” there for ever. Loving everything English, I knew there is enough room for self-expression on my new blog.

Are there other types of writing you enjoy doing?

Basically, everything I write can be found here 🙂

Do you see yourself as an optimist, pessimist, or neither?

Still an optimist, as three months ago. Bollywood has had a huge impact on my attitude.

Leader or follower?

Trying to be both. Leader on my own website. A faithful follower of yours 🙂

Talker or listener?

Depends on my mood. I admit I prefer listening to speaking right now, maybe because I am surrounded by very clever people.

Broad-minded or opinionated?

This is a wide question. Depends on the topic. Sometimes I may be very stubborn and conservative about something. Screen adaptions of my favourite Victorian novels which have nothing in common with the books are taken very painfully by me. Otherwise I guess I am broad-minded.

Introvert or extrovert?

More of an introvert. Prefer writing to talking, which is quite understandable for a blogger. (same as three months ago)

Type A or Type B?

Generally type A, but I understand how important it is to turn into type B sometimes.

What’s your favourite place in the world to be?

My little library!

If you could live anywhere in the world for 3-6 months where and why?

Fictional:

  1. The Beast’s castle from the Disney movie Beauty and the Beast. (has the best library in the world!)
  2. Pemberley. (most magnificent house, garden and the legendary lake!)

Real:

  1. Canterbury – love the name, the cathedral and the tales!
  2. Oxford – it’s a pleasure to be surrounded by clever people!

Beach vacation or mountain retreat?

Neither, I guess. I prefer sightseeing (museums, art galleries and stuff).

What is your favorite place you’ve ever traveled to?

My top three:

  1. London
  2. Vienna
  3. Milan

How do you keep yourself mindful on a daily basis?

I have my work-rest pattern strictly scheduled, so that the quality of my job does not suffer from exhaustion and the resulting carelessness. Remember that you will not do more by working non-stop. (same as three months ago)

How do you inject happiness into those days when you’re not feeling as positive as you’d like to?

The Scarlett rule, as I call it, tomorrow is another day, is not just a pretty quote from a classic, but an optimist’s guide.

What is your favorite time of day?

From five to nine p.m. I spend it chatting with my family, reading, writing, and watching some nice films.

What do you see when you walk into a room full of strangers and then how do you proceed?

Is it a party or a business conference? Will try to produce an answer which could possibly work for both. Well, I see a bunch of people I have never seen before. Actually, I do not take too much pains to hide my embarrassment. A shy smile and an awkward hi is something that charms the public immediately. So, after having charmed them in such a manner, I find the friendliest person (according to my first impressions), go straight to him or her and introduce myself. Gradually, I get to know most of the people in the room and can be enjoying two things – either answering a bunch of questions from their side, or listening to their precious personal opinions on whatever topic they choose.

An addition to what I wrote previously: it may also happen that I close the door and walk out – just in case I’m mistaken and have to be in another room/study/conference hall.

The world ends in 48 hours and you’ve lost your bucket list. What two things would you like to do?

If I were not too panicked, I’d go to Rochester castle, climb those 200+ steps and watch the world from above. Oh, yes, and I would definitely wear a Victorian dress to feel like Jane Eyre.

If you could have dinner with anyone dead or alive, who would it be?

Currently I’m fascinated with Empress Maude, the Lady of the English, who almost became the first Queen of England. I would be glad to find out why her plans failed, and what she was generally like, I mean, if she was beautiful, if she was really as edgy as described, and what her hobbies were.

What is your dream job?

Everything that is connected with creative writing

Do you have any pets?

Yes, I do have a red cat, a rather naughty one, but still lovely. (he hasn’t changed during the last three months.

What book(s) have made you cry?

I do not cry that often when reading a book, but The Fault in Our Stars is something impossibly heart-breaking. The last pages were soaking wet with my tears. Luckily I haven’t read anything as tear-jerking since then.

Thanks again to StephJ for this experience!

Cathy

The image taken from Scale it Simple

Leave a Reply

