Because of Rob. Chapter 6

The party itself was of the boring kind, just like the ones rich people usually have. But this time it was for the better – nothing could distract me while playing my role.

Ben and I, we danced all the slow dances as they were an excellent basis for looking like infantile lovebirds. My every step and movement was a sudden remembrance of one romantic movie or another. I put my arms around Ben’s neck and drew his face closer to mine with that oh-dear-I-love-you-so-much expression. It was Ben’s turn to kiss me. On my lips. So that Mrs. E. was persuaded to the highest extent. But, of course, he touched only the corner of my mouth. I wouldn’t agree to have the first kiss as a fake theatre decoration. And I didn’t have the slightest inclination to kiss Ben. He definitely wasn’t my romantic hero no matter how handsome he looked.

I stared him sweetly in the eye while thinking – why the hell am I going to a math school? I am such a damn talented Hollywood actress! If they don’t give me an Oscar for this performance, I will go and steal it from the next winner (only if it’s not Keira Knightley, Kate Winslet or Reese Witherspoon, my idols).

kate-winslet-19ef2df9-ef38-429d-8f7e-5ba07612b38a

Mrs. E. was watching us with that slightly reproachful expression adults usually do when teenagers are looking too intimate in their presence.

Mrs. Caroline was the happiest person of the party. I winked at her, putting my head on Ben’s shoulder with a smile. She could almost think I meant I really  like your boy. In a way, she would be right – it was nice and safe, being with him and even playing romance with him. It is always like this when you are not fallen head over heals, although everyone around thinks you are, and only the two of you know what all this sweetness really means – just friends. It was a mute agreement between us as it was impossible to talk in the madness of that mercilessly loud music. I could easily lose my voice if we had talked.

My knees felt like failing me after all that endless dancing on high-heeled shoes and I gladly let Ben support me. No matter he really had to put his arm around my waist to make me stable. In other circumstances, I might have objected, but not then. Moreover, it made our Oscar-winning performance deserve a double Golden Globe in addition.

The very moment I leaned against Ben’s shoulder to be more secure, Mrs. Caroline made us a sign to approach. She and Mrs. E. had been watching us all along and it seemed like they had been talking about us. I was arrogant enough to suppose that they had been discussing me in particular.

Cathy

Image taken from Us Weekly

Leave a Reply

